Home > About Us > Our School Heritage > Our School History & Milestones

Our School History & Milestones

Preacher Joseph Koh founded the school and it was known as Road End School. 
The medium of instruction was Teochew                       
1918 Mandarin was introduced as the medium of instruction
The school was renamed as Pei Hwa School. 
Pupils performed outstandingly well and there was sharp increase in the enrolment.
1941 - 1944 World War II broke out. School was closed temporarily.
School reopened after the War. Pupil enrolment was fewer than a hundred. 
However, within a year, the number surged and there was a need to expand. 
Pastor Quek raised funds to renovate the school and improve its facilities. 
Mr Tan Eng Quee was appointed Principal of the school. 
The first School Management Board was formed.
1950 1950 Pastor Yap Kok Hu was appointed Principal of the school by the School Management Board. He increased the number of classrooms to cope with the rising enrolment.
Mr Wu Serk was appointed Principal.  
The school excelled academically in ECA especially basketball.
1987 Mr Wu Serk moved the school building to a temporary holding building at Jalan Seh Chuan.
Mrs Dinah Gan was appointed Principal. 
Construction work for the new school building began at the original site.
Completion of the new school building. 
The school moved to the new building on 5 Sept 1990
School held an opening ceremony on 18 Nov 1992, The Guest of Honour was Dr Wang Kai Yuan, MP of Bukit Timah Constituency. 
School was selected by MOE as SAP school. 
School was also selected as one of 3 schools to participate in the Full-Day School Programme.
1994 Mrs Maria Phua was appointed Principal.
1995 School Management Board changed the name to Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School to show its affiliation to Glory Presbyterian Church.
1998 Miss Chan Lai Peng was appointed Principal in December.
School celebrated its 111th Anniversary on 3 June. 
A Thanksgiving Service was held in Glory Presbyterian Church.
2001 School was informed that it was selected for Phase 3 of PRIME(Programme for Improving Existing schools).
2002 School moved to a holding site at 300 Jalan Jurong Kechil in December.
School moved back to 7 Pei Wah Avenue in December upon the completion of PRIME. 
A Thanksgiving and Dedication Service was held on 18 December.
2005 An Official Opening Ceremony was held on 3 December and the Guest of Honour was Minister for Education, Mr Tharman Shamugaratnam.
2006 Mrs Foo Sook Fong was appointed Principal in December.
2007 School initiated 'Thinkers Today Leaders Tomorrow' programme to cater to High Ability pupils in P4.